Puma Hybrid Hull After Action Report

remington

Senior Fisheman
Boat
Champion 202
Ok boys (and girls) here's the scoop on the Puma Hybrid hull. First, I'm not a boat expert but will try and do the best I can at describing what was explained, observed, saw and done. Second, I have no hand in this, meaning nothing was promised, paid under the table or wink winked by BCB. Third, I'm not a writer or journalist so if you're going to be an English teacher cut me some slack. Fourth, this is going to be a long post.

Lets get her started....... My dear friend Tom Blakemore and I went down to fish the BCB OI on Bull Sholes this past weekend. We got into town and headed for BCB to register, tour the plant and visit (plus a secret mission of finding the hybrid). The second we pull up I begin scanning for a wedge hull rig (no joy). We take the plant tour and I looked over every rig and mold I could see for a wedge hull. No joy. During the tour I asked the rep if we could see the Hybrid hull. No we can't. After the tour we run into Rick and begin to visit. I asked him about the Hybrid hull and said I couldn't find it. Rick: "It's right under your nose." He then said "Let's take a walk" and took us over showing how the Hybrid came about by using PART of a 203 Champ hull and meshing it with a Puma hull. How much of the hull? From what I saw, imagine cutting the bottom 1/4 part of the 203 hull from the transom to the top of the strakes (no transom). BCB then used that mold and meshed (hybrid) it to the top portion of the Puma hull and tuned them both accordingly to BCB liking as one brand new hull. I'm not sure of exact measurements but you get the jest of it. Rick's explanation was starting to put a better picture in my head other than what I thought it was going to be. I was thinking/picturing Puma top cap on just the old 203 hull. This was obviously not the case.