CCW Tips

remington

Senior Fisheman
Boat
Champion 202
Everyone pretty much knows that I'm a gun super freak, cop, firearms instructor and gun nut. I've been a cop for over 10 years and CCW a gun on a daily bases. I am a firm believer in being able to defend yourself and family if the need arises. Here's some things I've learned over the years and I welcome any more sugestions:

1.) Dress around the gun not vis versa. If not you will find yourself doing "security check" on your CCW more frequently. A trained eye can spot this and it could potentially give away your position.

2.) Holsters: All holsters are NOT made alike. If you CCW do yourself a favor and invest in a good quality holster. The cheapos will get ya "killt".
Mexican carry or Gangster carry (stuck in you waistband) will get your nuts blown off. (I've seen it happen and that guys walking with a slight limp now). Once you picked a quality holster PRACTICE with it. Know how to secure, draw and resecure with one hand.

3.) Ammo: Carry a good quality expanding bullet. FMJs/Ball ammo have their place but not in a CCW gun. If your gun won’t reliably cycle them buy one that will. If you’re forced or dead set to use FMJ type ammo Federal makes a very reliable EXPANDING FMJ bullet. Detroit PD has carried them for years with pretty good success. CorBon make a PowerBall ammo that is similar to feed reliability of FMJ's. If FMJ's are all you've got its better than nothing. (Yes, I've carried them a time or two.)

4.) Spare ammo: A gun is a machine and like all machines can malfunction. Always always carry at least one full reload on your person with easy access and practice reloading. The fastest reload is a second gun but most CCWers out there only carry one.

5.) Sights: Night sights? On a CCW you really don’t need em but they're nice to have. Adjustable sights? I don’t care for em just for the snag effect but if yours has em run with it.